Industrial hemp is coming to Rhode Island. On October 9, 2018, Rhode Island farmers will be able to submit applications to become licensed hemp producers as part of a new state pilot program. As part of the pilot program, applicants will have to submit to a criminal background check and pay a $2,500 licensing fee. The program also requires seed-to-sale tracking similar to the state’s medical cannabis program, and all hemp crops will be required to undergo laboratory testing to ensure that the plants contain less than 0.03 percent THC. Although some applicants have called the process too restrictive, state regulators claim that the requirements were written by the state legislature and cannot be changed through regulations.
To read more, please visit the original post at the Providence Journal.